On Philosophy

This part of my blog will be particularly for philosophical concepts that I encounter throughout the next two years. Specifically as I work on my Heidegger thesis, as well as my Hegel/Kierkegaard thesis, but also for reflecting on thoughts in whatever grad program I end up in.

As for the first two, I am not quite sure yet what I will be doing with the ideas in Heidegger, but that  will make up the vast majority of my work next semester. The Kierkegaard thesis, however, I do know exactly where I want to go with that. The thesis itself asks: how do humans, as beings who see “the other,” come to any understanding of God, or at least a perfect being. This thesis specifically is attacking, in a Kierkegaardian way, Hegel’s idea that Reason alone can bring us to unity with the perfect thing, or even more, that reason alone is the perfect thing. I confronted this in a paper I have already written on how the Hegelian mediator, as he states it to be, would not be effective. But rather, one would need a mediator that is fully the perfect thing, and fully human in order to bring humans to actual perfection in unity with the perfect thing. In essence, I was making a Thomistic claim about Christ as the perfect mediator, in line with Kierkegaard.

In order to do what I hope to do with this idea (which is a far greater chunk of philosophy than I have tried to do before), I first have to reiterate what Hegel claims, then disprove him on his own grounds, again. From there, I would have to look at how exactly Kierkegaard thinks about God and compare it to how Hegel looks at God. From there, I would take a Thomistic approach and see which idea of God is valid and true, and approach the arguments that way. Kierkegaard approaches God as another Being, thus he approaches God subjectively. From there I would look at how Kierkegaard supposes that we approach and think about a being we cannot see or understand subjectively.

After all of this, I would expect to understand how one can come to a subjective understanding of a personal God, and better yet, how the mediator works into that whole relationship to unify our mortal selves to the Perfect.

Leave a Reply

